You Can Do It!

November 23, 2008 at 5:24 am 2 comments

Add Video

What's on the other side of your rainbow?

What's on the other side of your rainbow?

Motivate, motivate, motivate! That is my mission. What ever “this” is for you, you can do it. Dan Miller inspired me to write this post. He’s a renowned career coach who has a top career advice podcast. One of his listeners was upset because he was a little too optimistic for her. I like optimism. Here’s the podcast listener’s comment and his response:

What the commenter said:

“I really have to say something to you Dan. I’ve been reading your newsletter for several years. It really irks me that you continue to write your newsletter with little attention to what’s going on in the world today. You always say that many people miss things that are right in front of them; right now you’re missing the boat in the worst possible way. There’s nothing wrong with telling people to reach for their dreams, however, many people will never reach dreams they had as children because of various reasons such as lack of money, talent, training, or time. Sometimes dreams are just plain lost over time. Right now many people are losing their dreams, dreams of home ownership, dreams of moving up the ladder because they’ve lost their jobs, or dreams of retirement without worry. These people have to face the reality that their future may be different than what they had dreamed of. Hope is never lost but I feel that you need to temper your newsletters with a touch of reality. These are trying times and a lot of people are really hurting right now. Maybe you’ve forgotten what it’s like to make choices such as whether you want to eat or pay the electric bill. Having a background in ministry, I would think that you would consider that your audience could be in worst shape than you seem to know. I’m challenging you to reach down into your past and remember what it’s like to struggle every day then try to minister to those people and still give them hope to achieve their dreams.”

Dan’s Response:

“Do times like this require that we just forgo dreams that we have? Just chalk it up to circumstances…have made our dreams go up in smoke…not going to happen? What is true of people who do achieve their dreams? Did they just hit the right path in life? Born into the right family? Chose the right major? Got lucky in business and all of a sudden they’re successful? Well I don’t see that happening. I see people who are confronted with the very things that this writer (the commenter) talks about. They don’t have enough money, they don’t have enough talent, they don’t have enough time, they don’t have enough training and yet…despite all of those, they seem to rise over the occasion, prevail over those things, and end up extremely successful… I have to maintain my conviction that no matter what the circumstances are, we can move through those. Now is it easy? No. I don’t ever want to paint a picture that is just a walk in the park. I have experienced what Linda (the commenter) is talking about here… Now if I had been convinced that my dreams were never going to happen, trust me I would not be sitting where I am sitting today. I would have resigned myself to the fact that circumstances took over, those dreams were not meant to happen, and I need to have a dose of reality and just accept what was there. But I didn’t do that. I was more determined than ever, even though I’d dug a very large hole for myself I was determined to get back to where I had been and beyond…”

My response:

I am a Black woman, born and raised in an urban area. I was molested as a child. For almost a decade I suffered from low self-esteem and depression. I currently owe $100,000 in student loans and credit cards. This is my story and my truth. Let me tell you how I tell it.

I am a Black woman. Born and raised in an urban area. In spite of life challenges including molestation, depression, and low self-esteem, I am still here. I am still doing. I am still going. I am on the path to financial freedom.

Do you see the difference between those two narratives? Same thing said a different way. I choose to thrive and not survive. I chose to live boldly and not in complacency. I chose. I don’t let my circumstances dictate what happens to me. No one else should either.

I don’t know what “it” is for you, but I’m telling you from personal experience that you can do it. If you need support, send me an e-mail. Plenty of people do, I will respond. prosperityblogger@gmail.com

Until Next Time,
Kimmy B.

P.S. You can find Dan Miller’s podcast at www.48days.com. I also feature his book in the bookstore.

Entry filed under: Words of Encouragement. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Top 10 Blogging Lessons Learned (So Far) Prosperity Announcement

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coleen Finneral  |  November 25, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Dan,

    You are absolutely correct in your blog. We have to leave the past behind us, leave the baggage where it was.

    Mindset with prosperity consciousness does provide results in your life.

    For those of you that disagree with that, what Dan is stating is that we miss the abundance of even the smallest things that occur in our lives daily.

    With the economy as it is today, people are making changes in their lives. Taking leaps of faith and trusting what we believe in our hearts and mind.

    We have to find something to be grateful for everyday in our lives, being grateful that we are alive, being grateful for the person that shows us they care by giving a smile to one another as we pass someone on the street, at the grocery store, etc.

    To Kimmy, you are doing fabulous by being on the path to financial freedom and I believe with all that you have overcome and your desire and strength to move forward, you will achieve those results.

    Thanks to all and gratitude to all who choose to move forward in their lives.

    Reply
  • 2. prosperityblogger  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I couldn’t agree more. There is still so much hope in the world. The world would be a sad place if there weren’t people who still believed that they could overcome obstacles because they are the people who do overcome obstacles and provide motivation and inspiration for the rest of us.

    Kimmy B. “The Prosperity Blogger”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Become a Prosperity Subscriber Today!

Bookmark this Blog

Add to Technorati Favorites
Listen to this site on my phone with Jott Feeds
Bookmark and Share

Categories

Suggested Tools

Click Here to Watch the FREE Blogging Video Tutorials

